With the culmination of the year-long Survivor Engagement Process, the next step in the Foundation’s evolution is the recruitment of its first permanent Board of Directors.


Applications are now closed.
Sixties Scoop National Healing Foundation Board of Directors.
Deadline: September 10, 2020
Questions? Contact us toll-free 1-877-313-7011 or email

About the Process

The national-wide recruitment process is being executed based on the recommendations in the National Survivor Engagement Report, as per the guidance of the Interim Board. This means the process will adhere to the following principles:

How is the Process Being Run?

The Sixties Scoop Foundation Engagement Team, led by Conrad Prince, along with guidance from Expert Advisors, Kenn Richard and Raven Sinclair, are administering the overall process (to see their bios, click here). Their role is to promote the recruitment process, organize the intake of applications, review applications for completeness and basic fit against the job description and criteria outlined in the Engagement Report, provide the Ad-Hoc Selection Committee (see below) with a short-list of 25 applications (max) that best meet the criteria, and conduct reference, vulnerable sector, and police check verifications of final candidates.

Role of the Ad-Hoc Selection Committee

The Ad-hoc selection committee has been chosen to ensure another layer of objectivity in the recruitment process. Composed of 5 individuals with no interest in assuming board positions themselves, the ad-hoc committee has been assembled for the sole purpose of supporting the board selection process. Their role includes reviewing and assessing the 25 (max) short-listed candidates, and ultimately developing a ranked list of final candidates for the last stage of assessment—reference, police, and vulnerable sector checks. The Ad-hoc Selection Committee will prepare a rationale for their selections, which will be presented for final approval to the Interim Board of Directors.

Who is on the Ad-Hoc Selection Committee and How Were They Chosen?

The Ad-Hoc Selection Committee members were identified by the Engagement Team and Expert Advisors and approved by the Interim Board.  They were specifically selected based on their:

Ad-hoc Selection Committee Members

Dr. Allyson Stevenson
Research Chair in Métis Studies, University of Saskatchewan
Dr. Allyson Stevenson is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Indigenous Studies and the Gabriel Dumont Institute Research Chair in Métis Studies at the University of Saskatchewan. She received her MA and PhD in History from the University of Saskatchewan. She is an adoptee from Kinistino, Sk raised in Regina. Her research focuses on the Sixties Scoop and the emergence of the Adopt Indian and Métis program.  Her book, Intimate Integration: A History of the Sixties Scoop is forthcoming October 2020 with University of Toronto Press. She has published articles on the Sixties Scoop, Indigenous Women’s political activism, and histories of Métis resilience and resistance.

Dr. Renee Linklater

Director, Shkaabe Makwa, Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)
Renee Linklater, PhD is a member of Rainy River First Nations in Northwestern Ontario. She has over 25 years of experience working with Indigenous healing agencies and First Nation communities. Renee has worked across the health and education sectors as a frontline worker, program evaluator, curriculum developer, educator/trainer, and researcher. She is an international speaker on trauma and healing and is the author of Decolonizing trauma work: Indigenous stories and strategies. Renee is the Director of Shkaabe Makwa at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) and is actively involved in several system level initiatives across the Ontario.

Banakonda Kennedy-Kish Bell

Elder-in-Residence, Faculty of Social Work, Aboriginal Field of Study, Wilfrid Laurier University
Banakonda Kennedy-Kish Bell is an Elder-in-Residence with the Lyle S. Hallman Faculty of Social Work, Aboriginal Field of Study at Wilfrid Laurier University. She is an Indigenous cultural advisor, teacher, and Traditional Practitioner, and has served Indigenous communities for over forty years.

Dr. Cornelia Wieman

Acting Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Office of the Chief Medical Officer, First Nations Health Authority  
Dr. Cornelia (Nel) Wieman works for the First Nations Health Authority (FNHA) in Vancouver, BC in the Office of the Chief Medical Officer as the Acting Deputy Chief Medical Officer (A/DCMO). She is an Adjunct Professor in the Faculty of Health Sciences at Simon Fraser University and an Assistant Clinical Professor in the Department of Psychiatry & Behavioural Neurosciences, Faculty of Health Sciences at McMaster University. Nel is Canada’s first female Indigenous psychiatrist (Anishnawbe – Little Grand Rapids First Nation, Manitoba). She completed her medical degree and psychiatry specialty training at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario.

Bernadette Iahtail

Executive Director & Co-Founder, Creating Hope Society of Alberta
Bernadette Iahtail is the Executive Director and Co-founder of Creating Hope Society, an Indigenous, accredited non-profit agency established to recognize the sixties and seventies child welfare scoop of Aboriginal children. We believe the child welfare scoop of Aboriginal children is a continuation of the Residential School era, and it is time to halt the cycle of Indigenous children being separated from their families and communities. Creating Hope Society's mission and vision is to "Create hope, support healing, honour truth and reconcile our differences."

Contact Us

If you have any questions about the Sixties Scoop Healing Foundation Board Recruitment process, please call toll free: 1-877-313-7011 or email

We are committed to making this process as accessible as possible. If you have would like to submit a Board application and are unable to submit through the online application process, please call 1-877-313-7011 to arrange an alternative way to submit.